Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award 2019 (MYRCA)

Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Award 2019 (MYRCA)

Manitoba Young Readers’ Choice Awards Inc. aims to promote reading and Canadian literature by giving young Manitobans in Grades 5-8 the opportunity to vote for their favourite Canadian book from an annual selected list.

2019 MYRCA Sundog Nominees (for readers Grades 4+)


A Blinding Light by Julie Lawson

Bounced by Ted Staunton

Brave by Svetlana Chmakova

Clutch by Heather Camlot

Laura Monster Crusher by Wesley King

Restart by Gordon Korman

The Doll’s Eye by Marina Cohen

The Explorers: The Door in the Alley by Adrienne Kress

The Nameless City: The Stone Heart by Faith Erin Hicks and Jordie Bellaire

The Theory of Hummingbirds by Michelle Kadarusman


2019 MYRCA Northern Lights Nominees (for readers Grades 7+)

Even the Darkest Stars by Heather Fawcett

Exo by Fonda Lee

Falcon Wild by Terry Lynn Johnson

Run by David Skuy

Short for Chameleon by Vicki Grant

Sit by Deborah Ellis

The Assassin’s Curse by Kevin Sands

The Way Back Home by Allan Stratton

The Winnowing by Vicki VanSickle

Those Who Run in the Sky by Aviaq Johnston

These titles are nominated based on their quality and reader appeal.  Not all titles may be appropriate for all students in the age range of the MYRCA readership.

Voting for the 2019 MYRCA winner will be open from March 18, 2019 to midnight Wednesday, April 10, 2019.

Visit your Library, or the MYRCA website for additional information.