# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE WESTERN MANITOBA REGIONAL LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES ON JANUARY 17, 2024, AT 6:33 PM OVER ZOOM VIDEOCONFERENCE

**PRESENT:** Coral Millar; Shaun Cameron; Cyndall Lougheed; Jason Nadeau;

Bill Kalinowich; Dallis Olmstead; Loretta Oliver; Charles Radford;

Donna Fillion; Karen Thomas; Erika Martin, Director of Library Services;

Donna Jardine, Secretary

**ABSENT:** Bill Stilwell

#### **INAUGURATIVE:**

Secretary Donna Jardine is in the Chair.

The following people will comprise the Board of the Western Manitoba

Regional Library for the year 2024.

City of Brandon: Councillor Shaun Cameron

Cyndall Lougheed

Town of Carberry: Deputy Mayor Bill Kalinowich

North Cypress/Langford: Councillor Dallis Olmstead

Loretta Oliver

Town of Neepawa: Councillor Jason Nadeau

Bill Stilwell

Glenboro/South Cypress Councillor Charles Radford

Donna Fillion

Grassland: Councillor Coral Millar

**Karen Thomas** 

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS:**

Chair of the Board: Loretta Oliver nominated Coral Millar

Coral Millar nominated Shaun Cameron

The Chair asked for further nominations (none received).

Report for the position of Chair:

Number of votes cast 10
Necessary for election (majority) 6
Coral Millar received 4
Shaun Cameron received 6

The Chair declares Shaun Cameron elected as Chair of the

Board for the year 2024.

Shaun Cameron assumed the chair at this time.

Vice-Chair of the Board: Bill Kalinowich nominated Coral Millar

No further nominations received

The Chair declares Coral Millar elected by acclamation as Vice

Chair of the Board for the year 2024.

#### APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA:

Charles Radford/Cyndall Lougheed

MOTION 01-2024:

That the agenda be accepted as circulated.

CARRIED

#### Finance Committee:

Donna Fillion/Jason Nadeau

MOTION 02-2024:

That the Board as a whole act as the Finance

Committee for the year 2024.

**CARRIED** 

### Appointment of Bankers:

Bill Kalinowich/Jason Nadeau

MOTION 03-2024:

That the Bank of Montreal be appointed to provide banking services for the library for the year 2024.

CARRIED

## Appointment of Auditors:

Coral Millar/Charles Radford

MOTION 04-2024:

That the firm of Meyers Norris Penny be appointed to provide

auditing services for the Library for the year 2024.

**CARRIED** 

## Appointment of Solicitors:

Bill Kalinowich/Donna Fillion

MOTION 05-2024:

That Meighen Haddad be appointed solicitors for the library for

the year 2024.

**CARRIED** 

## Bank Signing Authority:

Dallis Olmstead/Charles Radford MOTION 06-2024:

That the signing authority for the Board be as

follows; any two to sign:

Chair, Shaun Cameron Trustee, Cyndall Lougheed Bookkeeper, Dorothy Raynor CARRIED

#### **ADJOURNMENT:**

Dallis Olmstead

That the meeting be adjourned at 6:54 pm.

Shaun Cameron	Donna Jardine	
Chair	Secretary	